Blog All The Things…..

Hello friends!

It has been too long since I last blogged. Sorry about that, but I have been busy which is always a good thing! Let me fill you in with what I have been up to…..

First of all, I am thrilled to announce that I am being considered for a Grammy Nomination for my classical work Artist and The Muse. The nominations are announced in December. Right now I am on the long “short list”. To make it this far is very exciting even if I don’t get any further. If you would like to buy Artist on The Muse  you can find it on iTunes here.  Hear a sample of it on Soundcloud.

Revelation premiered to a packed house at Teatro ZinZanni on Wednesday, October 17. Just two days later it screened at Flyway Film Festival. I have to say this is my favorite film score thus far that I have composed. I used almost all live instruments and really was able to create some interesting music. It was a fantastic experience, and I am so happy to share it with you. It is now online so you can watch it here!

Another great film I just finished scoring is Dressing Up, written and directed by Ilona Rossman Ho. We are just wrapping up post-production sound and then it will be heading out to Festivals. I will keep you posted on the Festival schedule.

Have I told you about Celebrate World Music? Brought to you by the same two fantastic entities that brought you Symphonic Stories, Burmer Music and Composition Lab, it is going to be another night filled with great new original music by local composers. Once again it will be at Benaroya in their recital hall, on March 24, 2013. This time there will be a world music theme, with each composer focusing on integrating music from a different country or region. I will be focusing on incorporating the indigenous music of Australia. I am working with Didgeridoo player Greg Powers and he is brilliant.

My work is called For Those who have Walked Ahead. It is dedicated to my late Aunty Wendy Delaney who did so much for the Aboriginal community in Tasmania. I have always wanted to write a piece of music in her memory and am so please the time has come to make it happen.

Now an update on the documentary The Art of Walking Barefoot. The crew have been in Thailand shoot footage for the last few weeks and have just one week left before they come back home to the US and start putting it all together. I am so excited to see the edit! It will probably take a good few months to make the edit come together which means my turn will start around January. This is such an exciting project to be a part of and I appreciate everyone who helped support us in our Kickstarter. It is so important for us to tell the story of those strong yet struggling children in Pattaya, Thailand.

I am currently working on a super fun project: Airship Daedalus radio play. Right now we are in the midst of post-production but it is shaping up to be a fantastic audio adventure experience. It will be available on CD for purchase by the end of the year. Keep updated by liking the facebook page. I will let you know when it is on sale.

Final piece of news and then I am tapped out. We are moving to LA at the end of November. It is time to take on Hollywood! My husband and I have been going down more and more often and feel like it is where we need to be living at this point in our lives. It offers many more options for work for me as there is just so much going on down there in film and media. I am excited! But we are definitely going to miss our Seattle friends and film/music community. Seattle is a special place and I am so thankful that I started here on my journey as a composer.

More soon!

Cheers,
Catherine

Leave a Reply

