First Weeks in LA…..

Hi Friends,

It has been a crazy time since we rolled into LA. We truly hit the ground running!

After just 5 days of trying to get settled, and before our movers even arrived with the majority of our belongings, I landed an orchestration gig working for the fantastic documentary composer Miriam Cutler. I am assisting her on two projects: the first episode of the three-part series Makers: Women Who Make America and the documentary which will be premiering at Sundance and then also screening on PBS: American Promise. I feel incredibly blessed and thrilled because not only am I working with a composer I really admire, but I am working on projects that are spectacular and important. I am thankful!

I have also been continuing to work on my Celebrate World Music work “For Those Who Have Walked Ahead”. I am happy with how it is progressing and hope to have all the notes written by the end of the week. That will be no small feat, but I am up for the challenge. We are recording the concert works on January 15th so that the CD will be ready for purchase at the March 24 performance. Have you bought your tickets yet? Buy them here today! I have a didgeridoo in my piece – you DO NOT want to miss it!!

Also, I continue to collaborate with filmmaker Chris Julian on his feature Scapegoat and a commercial project. He is one of my favorite filmmakers, and persons, so it is always a joy!

There are so many great projects on the horizon. This first month in LA has literally been everything we have wanted it to be: busy, fun, exhausting and exciting. We are certain that this was the right move.

More soon! Thanks for your continued support. You can also follow me on facebook and twitter.

Cheers,
Catherine

Leave a Reply

