February Already!

Hi Friends,

I cannot believe how quickly time is marching along. We are already in the second month of the new year and March is right around the corner – three weeks away!

Now that I have finished stating the obvious, I do have some exciting projects to share with you.

Celebrate World Music is happening on Sunday, March 24, 2 p.m. at Benaroya Hall, Seattle. This marks the world premiere of my work for chamber orchestra and didgeridoo: For Those Who Have Walked Ahead. This piece is in memory of my Aunty Wendy Delaney, who did so much for the Aboriginal community in Tasmania while she was with us. I am so thankful for this opportunity to honour her.

If you are in Seattle on March 24th, I hope I will see you there. It is going to be a fantastic event: eight composers premiering new works featuring instruments from around the world. We had our recording session a few weeks ago, as we are releasing the CD on the same day as the performance, and everything is sounding Amazing! Not to be missed, friends, I assure you. But if you do miss it, then you can buy a CD on iTunes – more information on that when it is released.

One more thing I would like to share with you today is a project that I have been involved with for a number of years now: Citizen Heroes. Citizen Heroes tells the stories of individuals in the NorthWest who are willing to put on a costume and not only fight crime, but support the homeless, combat poverty and build a sense of community in their neighborhood.

We have been slowly working away on this feature-length documentary and have decided that it is time to speed things up and release it this very year! In order to do that we just need a few key things like some more hard drives and funds for Festival applications.

We are doing a very small crowd-funding campaign for just $750. Everything else required we will cover personally. This is definitely a passion project. Please will you throw a few bucks our way to help us buy our hard drives and get this baby out on the festival circuit? Believe me, this is going to be a great. I can’t wait for you to see it.
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/citizen-heroes

If you haven’t liked it already, please like my facebook page!

Thank you so much for your continued support.

Cheers,
Catherine Grealish

One thought on “February Already!

Leave a Reply

